Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been on the lookout for my first decent table saw for quite sometime. A Delta Unisaw came up on craigslist that I am interested in. I live in rural northern MN so my options are kinda limited when it comes to Craigslist. He is asking $500.

Model: Delta 87-369

This one is about two hours away.

http://stcloud.craigslist.org/tls/4073455075.html

It has a 5hp motor, 3480rpm and from the research I have done is 230/480V although it is a 3ph. I know I would need the converter. I am currently renting a house where there is no available 220V in the garage where I work. However I am planning on building my own home with a shop within the next couple years. I am 24 years old and want a saw that will last me my life time. Is this it or should I wait? I am a new woodworker :blush: and although this may sound ridiculous, is this too much saw for me? :eek:

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
I would pass. As a new woodworker that saw can get you in real trouble pretty quick. 5 hp will kick pretty hard. Also...a 3 phase machine is a fair amount more cost associated with a phase converter that will power 5hp. And lastly....storing the saw on end? I think the saws abused.

Keep watching.

·
7,222 Posts
+1 with Ryan. Keep watching.

I would not purchase a tool which you will not be able to use until you purchase a house. That may be a couple of years, or stuff happens and your purchase is delayed. I hope not, but if things happened, this is not an easy saw to sell.

I would look out for a hybrid like the Craftsman 22124 or one of the Rigid, or even a job site size saw and build a mobile table around it. At least you would be able to use a 120V tool in the meantime, and likely be able to sell it when you have 240V power and can upgrade.

·
Registered
5,445 Posts