Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to wood working and am doing some small projects and what i have found is i am lacking some information. After you sand and stain a piece of wood what do you put on it to make it like a piece of furniture. What i am meaning i guess is how do you get that smooth clear hard shiny finish like on wood furniture that you buy?

·
Registered
26,215 Posts
There are any number of clear coatings you could use and these would vary depending on the project. Some are more water resistant than others and some are made for interior use and some are made for exterior use.

Finishing by hand can be very difficult. I would recommend you get an air compressor and a sprayer. It doesn't have to be expensive equipment. Any cheap sprayer would work for most things. I use a Harbor Freight #97855 sprayer I get with a 20% off coupon for around 21 bucks. The compressor is the most important part. You can often save money by finding a used on on craigslist. Try to find one that develops at least 4 cfm at 90 psi.

If you had the means of spraying you could use a lacquer finish for interior projects. It dries so fast and is so easy to use you could be done in a couple of hours after the stain is dry.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There are any number of clear coatings you could use and these would vary depending on the project. Some are more water resistant than others and some are made for interior use and some are made for exterior use.

Finishing by hand can be very difficult. I would recommend you get an air compressor and a sprayer. It doesn't have to be expensive equipment. Any cheap sprayer would work for most things. I use a Harbor Freight #97855 sprayer I get with a 20% off coupon for around 21 bucks. The compressor is the most important part. You can often save money by finding a used on on craigslist. Try to find one that develops at least 4 cfm at 90 psi.