Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am completely new to woodworking, so lets start there. For the life of me I cannot decide if it would be better to start with a new, but cheaper, table saw or a used table saw, like the Rigid 4512. I do have a 240v hookup in my "shop" (it can be hardly called that atm) so thats not a concern. But I really don't know where to start... I am leaning towards the Rigid just because I can return it and get it serviced much easier than a table saw I buy from someone. I dont really know how to look at the guts of a saw and make sure that its a solid saw...

I guess another question would be is there a huge difference between the $550 Rigid and saw a $800 Grizzly, say the G0715, that a beginner would notice or truly benefit from. Help!

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
Your going to get a million different responses to this question. There is no right answer. However if you don't feel comfortable with the mechanical side of a saw I'd go new. I also consider the craftsman version of the ridgid , it's item number is 21833. It has a bit bigger motor, a longer cord, an arbor lock, a better stock blade and can often be had for 550 or less when ordering off of sears.com.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Your going to get a million different responses to this question. There is no right answer. However if you don't feel comfortable with the mechanical side of a saw I'd go new. I also consider the craftsman version of the ridgid , it's item number is 21833. It has a bit bigger motor, a longer cord, an arbor lock, a better stock blade and can often be had for 550 or less when ordering off of sears.com.
What about a table top saw, like the Bosch 4100, and making a stand?

·
Sawdust Wrangler
482 Posts