Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Fighting the fight.....
231 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have only had my lathe for less than a week but have been busy trying to learn all that I can. I also made some pen and pencil sets for the wife and kids. They are standard slim line style. Made from purple heart, cocobola and other woodcraft pen blanks.

What do you think?

Attachments

·
Registered
95 Posts
i am new to pen turning as well. i have found that a CA glue finish works well (recommended by another member here) and polyurethane.

·
Registered
680 Posts
Nice work, keep them coming. The more you turn the better you will get.

·
Fighting the fight.....
231 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I have noticed that the more pens I turned, the faster I got at it.... Turning is a learned knack.

The finish varies from pen to pen. The first few I used just the liquid HUT wax with bar wax finish. You can see the pen on the left (Purpleheart) has an open porous wood and shows white imperfections from the bar wax. The right most pencil (also Purpleheart) has no bar wax. You can see there are no white imperfections in the finish..... I don't like the imperfections so I stopped using the bar wax.

The pencil, 3rd from the right, has only Shellac finish on it. It is very shiny and should be very durable.

I am looking forward to making some more. I need to run to the lumber store and get some wood. I live near a true lumber yard that stocks all kids of lumber. Is it bad to turn kiln dried wood?

Fred

·
4Woodturning
352 Posts
Looks like you are hooked on pen tuning. I have a been turning for a long time but I still love to turn a pen from time to time. your pens look great, have fun and would like to see more.

·
Registered
680 Posts
PT, It is fine to turn kiln dried wood. You have to take you time but it is fine.

·
Registered
9 Posts