Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

My name is Nathan. I live in Las Vegas, NV and am in my early 30's. I finally decided to join as a member but have been browsing this forum for a while now whenever I need some info, but decided my latest project requires some unique answers to questions and will ask them in other topic boards.

I just wanted to introduce myself and say that I think this is a great place and that the members here are some of the most helpful people I've ever run across on the inter-tube. You people are awesome!

I'm fairly inexperienced as a fine woodworker, but consider myself a craftsman. I did take three years of advanced cabinet and furniture making courses in high school and also took some woodworking independent study classes and was the shop teachers assistant... So I do have a little experience and won't need to re-learn EVERYTHING (even though that was almost 15 years ago). I was a welder in the military and have spent the last 8 years of my life in college studying Architecture. The design and building of furniture and custom "things" has become my main focus of study as opposed to the design and building of buildings.

I know this site will be an invaluable tool as I move into the finer arts of woodwoking and would like to thank everyone ahead of time!

Nathan

·
where's my table saw?
28,591 Posts
Welcome to you!

Architecture was my field of study also. I started in high school and 2 years of college, then I found Industrial Design and continued with that for about 30 years. The skills of drawing and designing will serve you well in this hobby or craft. Physics plays a very important role in woodworking operations with spinning blades and cutters, forces and loading of structural members, wood movement etc.