Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to this particular forum. I'm curious how many woodworkers use the "burn" method on a standard tape like I have for years? Well last summer I cut a stretcher for a table too short because I forgot to add my burned amount! Mind you I had planed and cut two walnut boards, glued them up to create a 1.5" thick board and planed and jointed it. What a waste. I got in a hurry. I've done it before. I was so mad! I've done it on big timbers too! But that stretcher was the last straw. I'd been looking for the prior two years for a manufacturer to work with me to create a new tape to prevent this common problem and that stretcher re-lit the fire. Well I found a company to work with me and I finally have made them. I did have to commit to buying 500 to pay for part of the tooling cost. So I have to sell them to break even. After that I will direct any additional sales over to the manufacturer. I did this project for the benefit of the timberframe community and because I wanted this tape for myself. I think it may help a lot of other woodworkers too though. Here's a short youtube video I made to show the tape. I'd like to know if general woodworkers use the burn method and thus if this new tape would apply to them? Thanks.
http://youtu.be/DL9pG6axiDM

·
Registered
12,619 Posts
Hi, I'm new to this particular forum. I'm curious how many woodworkers use the "burn" method on a standard tape like I have for years?

Well last summer I cut a stretcher for a table too short because I forgot to add my burned amount! Mind you I had planed and cut two walnut boards, glued them up to create a 1.5" thick board and planed and jointed it. What a waste. I got in a hurry. I've done it before. I was so mad! I've done it on big timbers too! But that stretcher was the last straw.