Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
885 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well I did it. I sold my Craftsman monotube at a garage sale. I figured it would push me to make the leap to upgrade. So today I did a little pre purchase shopping.
Nova 1624 being on sale for 949.00 is a 450 saving and it has some good reviews. Then I saw a Shopfox 16-46 new for 700. haven't seen much on these.
I think its lowest speed is 600. The Nova I think 250 rpm.
I also saw a 12 1/2" Delta Midi with variable speed control for the same ball park price.
I appreciate advice as I am relatively new to turning. I am not looking for doing long spindles but would like to do the larger bowls and platters. Both the Nova and Shop fox have swivel heads. I don't remember the delta specs as well.
I am also not planning on doing pens.
Next weekend is The woodworking show here so I hope to do a little more shopping and maybe purchase if there are any good deals to be had.

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
Not familiar with the shopfox other than they are offbrand copies of Jets I believe. 600 rpm is too fast for larger bowls. you will hurt yourself trying to rough those out.
Nova lathes have an excellent reputation for quality. I have owned 2 myself and highly recommend them.
The Delta 12 1/2" doesn't have a swiveling head so 12" is the bigggest bowl you can get. I currently own one of these and think it's a fabulous lathe. Just not good if you want to do larger than 12" bowls.
I reality larger bowls for me don't sell, require many times the effort to finish and sand, and finding wood that large can be a problem. Consequently probably 98% of the bowls I turn are under 12" The bigger heavier lathes let you spin that size with less effort and I do turn some platters that are over 12" so I do like my Powermatic 3520 but in reality most of what I turn could be done on the Delta.

·
7,222 Posts
Spindle turning and bowl turning have very different requirements.