Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
rmorgan66
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, got a newbie here and I am just getting started. I recently retired and I am anxious about getting back into woodworking that I left when I went into the military back in the 60's. Anyway, found this site and I believe that this is the site that I will need for all my woodworking projects and I am looking forward to many a fireside chat:yes:. So, I am kind of a novice so please bear with me if I ask some dumb questions from time to time. I really want to learn and hone my skills. Really looking forward to this site.

Rick

·
where's my table saw?
28,567 Posts
Hi Rick

Nice intro and welcome! You will find a variety of opinions and probably several different answers to the same question here since there is always more than one way to "skin the cat", so fire away.
How 'bout a list of the tools you have and what type of projects you might want to tackle? :blink:

·
Registered
364 Posts
Hello and Welcome to the forum. Glad you found this site. It's full of us old guys and there is plenty of help available. Thank You for serving.

·
Registered
834 Posts
Welcome!

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
Welcome!
They told me there weren't any dumb questions here.

·
rmorgan66
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
hello everyone, sorry that it has taken me forever to reply but I have been kinda busy as of late.
Dumb question #1. Concerning routing, I am finishing out a workbench and to top it off I put a laminate top on it. I cut it down to make it easier to work with and now that it is permantely attached to the bench top I want to smooth off the corners and edges. I have a laminate bit that I am going to use with my router and to make sure that I do it right, I am asking the pros. Which way do I go when I get started cutting, is it clockwise or counter clockwise?
I have being a novice :)

·
7,222 Posts
Many ways to hold the router or orient the workpiece.