Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.

I am new to the site, been reading it for a few months now, but am just now deciding to get involved. I have really enjoyed reading up on tool reviews, project threads, and all kinds of other random things. there are a lot of you who really know your stuff.

Anyway, I have $200 in Home Depot gift cards and can't decide what to buy. I have my eye on a PC compressor/brad nailer/nail gun/stapler combo that they have for $250, a couple of routers, a Kreg jig, and maybe a few other things. As I am pretty new to woodworking, I have a table saw, circular saw, drill and impact driver. I would like to build a crib from maple. Any suggestions? thanks all

·
Registered
3,248 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

If you are new to woodworking, I'd hold off on a nail gun unless carpentry is what you actually plan to do.

A crib should use joinery and glue and maybe screws, for example, not a nail gun.

·
Woodworking Wanderer
216 Posts
Welcome, from Southern California...

Compressors and nail guns, I'd buy later...when you know you need them...I'd watch craigslist for a while for those. Harbor Freight's small compressors are cheap brand new (there's a 3 gallon on sale for $50 most of the time) and work for light use quite well. Their nail guns, etc., are always going on/off sale (and 20% off anything coupons will rain if you sign up for email list) and are also pretty darn good for hobbyist use.

Blades and bits add up quickly, if I had "free" gift cards, I think that's where I'd go. And/or sanding/sharpening equipment to keep those you have in top shape. Everything you make needs to be sanded, it seems.

A disc and/or belt sander (there are neat/simple combo units out there..I see them on CL pretty regularly) is quite helpful as often as not.