Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
781 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm relatively new to the wood working scene. I have always done some stuff with wood, I did the whole subwoofer box for my car and took woodshop in school. My mom used to do crafts, which involved my dad cutting alot of wood and his dad made his living as a pattern maker.

I'm starting to get into it more and i have some tools and was basically given 4 huge boxes of old mahogany wood that is good for small projects. Now I want to get into it more and build more things. Just for a hobby really, nothing professional.

I currently have an old Craftsman table saw that I hate.... it is too small and hard to work with and the fence has been the cause of more scrapped wood and frustration. I would really like to have a table saw that incorporate a router table on it. Space is a premium since I keep my tools in a 2.5 garage along with 2 cars.... so it must be easily movable and be capable of giving me good cuts

I have been looking at used stuff, but having been able to find just what i'm looking for, and when I have it has been gone before I can get it.

I would like to find a nice used setup of around $400. Any advise you can provide would be great!

Thanks

·
Registered
6 Posts
Just picked up a JET saw with a 52" fence. $400 on a close out, left over from last year. I got it at Force Machinery in NJ. You can Google them and see if they will ship. It is a great value and is worth lots more than that.

·
Registered
5,445 Posts
$400 should buy a very nice used saw, and maybe even a good new one. Check the local classifieds, Craigslist, Ebay, etc....ya never know. Also, it might help to put your general geographic location in your profile...someone might spot a deal for you.

Rockler has a full size cast iron 1.5hp Jet contractor saw on clearance for $400....worth a look.

·
781 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·