Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hope I'm posting I the right forum. I'm new to wood working and am seeking advice as to what tools ( hand or electric ) you all would recommend. I currently have an old craftsman 8" table saw that was my grandfathers. The fence is a POS and I am looking into making a replacement. A new one is not out of the question but I would like to wait till I have a real need for an upgrade. I also have a 12" compound miter saw, a 2-1/2 hp router with fixed and plunge base. A pocket hole jig, a few clamps and misc other tools such as screw drivers, cordless/corded drills. Basically the typical stuff you would find in a DIY type guys garage.

Now on to what I want to do. I would like to start with basic projects, cutting boards, jewelry boxes, etc. At this point I'm not looking to make any furniture. Aside from what I already own what do you recommend I get to help me make these items?

Sorry for the long post.

·
Registered
205 Posts
Hi bsmoov, you have found exactly the right forum. There are many truly talented individuals here along with new guys like yourself (and myself). Making a cutting board could be as easy as using your router to put a decorative edge on an old board you have laying around. When I started out, and others may also recommend the same, I read a few books and watched many youtube videos on the subject. This not only gave me ideas of things I could make but also better informed me as to how to make them. One youtube woodworker I would recommend is Steve Ramsey with his program "Woodworking for Mere Mortals". He tends to use a minimal of tools and has easy projects for beginners.

As far as purchasing new tools and machines...I tend to wait until I need something or have outgrown what I currently have. By then I have a pretty good idea of what I need/want and have researched what is available in order to make the best decision within my budget.