Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, my name is Ben. I am 29 and own a home in Fridley, MN with my wife. I am very new to wood working.

I built a table for board gaming at a friends house about a month ago. The table we built is far to big lol. I want to sell this one and build a new one. I would also like to build a computer desk, head and foot board for our bed, ect. I will also be doing some home remodeling in the years to come. With all that being said I am trying to make the choice of starting to buy my own tools or join a place called the Hack Factory, its about a 25 min drive from my home. I do have a lot of hand tool type things, mostly like auto tools and what not. The fee to join the Hack Factory is $55 a month, and I can go there 24/7 They have all sorts of tools. But space for keeping projects there is very limited. I went on a tour there yesterday, very interesting place.

When I built the first table I used a router a table saw and a miter saw. This morning I was just looking on craigslist and found this, Sears 10 inch table saw Looks kinda like the one I used at my friends house. It looks like the router part is missing a piece, not sure. But I am wondering if I should just start buying my own stuff. So that way it is at home and easier for me to use. Anyone have any thoughts on this?

·
Trytore Member
2,763 Posts
That's a cool place! IMHO you could benefit from a place like that where you could ask questions of those with more experience. You would have access to a wider range of tools and machinery and benefit from the community. Were I in your shoes I would join the Hack Factory for a while and build my own shop as I can. Then go on your own when ready.

·
Registered
259 Posts