Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is Tom and I just found this forum. I have been a woodworker for nearly 40 years (starting as a teen). I loved woodworking so much that I became a high school woodworking and drafting teacher. I have been teaching for 29 years and only have a few more before I can retire. I have done all sorts of woodworking from building houses/garages/other structures, to custom furniture, custom lathe turning and custom cabinets.

Besides teaching I also do custom cabinetry in the shop that I built behind the house. My favorite type of woodworking is furniture, Arts and Crafts style most notably.

Although new to this forum, I'm not new to forums in general, as I am a member of several other forums most are Corvette related.

I look forward to learning new things here and hopefully letting some of my experience and knowledge out to some who are less experienced.

·
Registered
4,690 Posts
hopefully letting some of my experience and knowledge out to some who are less experienced.
Hello Tom, glad to have you. Hey a woodworking teacher, cool, I wish I would have paid more attention to mine 25 years ago :laughing:. It's funny some people are drawn to this at an early age (like high school), I myself was not. Now I kinda envy the chance some of these youths have to start honing their skills early. The internet is a powerful learning tool too that was not around in our youth.

Corvette guy eh, we talk cars here too (and food, whatever really). We like pictures, woodworking projects/tools/cars...

·
Registered
4,690 Posts
Steve you are one of lucky younger members I was talking about, you are 15 right? And already making nice stuff, when you get old like me (40:laughing:) you should have this mastered...I am still learning, you got about a 20 year head start :thumbsup:.

·
Registered
484 Posts