Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased a new Grizzly G0513 Anniversary Edition 17" Bandsaw. I noticed while assembling that there is a visible bow to the cast iron table. I emailed pictures to Grizzly and their response was that it will not effect any cut.

Being a novice, I'm hoping that somebody with some experience can either confirm or deny that claim so that I know whether to drop the issue or escalate it with the CS.

The bow is right along the "Split" in the table and drops a little shy of an 1/8" at it's worst. The miter track still basically aligns and the miter gauge still slides down the track. The table is flat on the opposite side of the split.

It's hard to tell from the pictures, but maybe they'll help...

Attachments

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
There's a chance the square you are using is not perfectly flat. Try using something more precise like an engineered straight edge to make your point with grizzly

·
Registered
679 Posts
Of course they are going to try to convince you its OK so they don't have to give you a new table. I would keep complaining loud and clear until you get one. I think the problem is they are mass producing the tables too fast. All my cast iron tools are 20 plus years old and dead flat. Good Luck!

·
Registered
5,445 Posts
You're the best person to confirm or deny that the table affects the cut. Make some test cuts and check the cuts. It's very likeley that there's not enough deviation to bother with. If the cuts end up affecting your joinery, show pics of the saw and the joinery to Grizzly and let them correct it.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·