Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, new to this site and kind of a newbie overall.
Little history about myself, I have some experience with woodworking as woodworking was compulsory in my high school. Thanks to a good teacher I learned the very basics of woodworking and have always wanted to get more involved, but you know, stuff got in the way. Now that my kids are older and out from under my feet I have some spare time. My intention is to start with a bench in my basement that I can utilize for future projects. I picked up some wood yesterday at the Home Depot for this particular project but now that I have it sitting in front of me I am unsure of how to proceed!

What I would like is a decent (as in large) bench as I currently have some room in the basement. This is only temporary as I plan to move to my garage when the weather changes (Spring). So I guess it needs to fit through my kitchen door eventually....

Anyway, I plan to use this bench for constructing shelves, repairs and basic cabinetry.

Tools I have are:
Circular saw
Power drill (battery and electric)
Jig saw
Router
Compound Miter Saw
And my tool box - measuring tape, hammer etc.

Wood I have:
4 2x4
2 4x4
Sheet of MDF 6ft x 3ft (with miscellaneous pieces left over)
Miscellaneous pieces of wood in my garage of 2x4 and some plywood
Also, a couple of spare doors.
And - A Rockler heavy duty quick release front vise
Also, willing to spend a few more dollars to get whats needed but it needs to be a pretty simple design as I do have limited skills.

Any ideas/designs that would set me up to get back into working with wood would be greatly appreciated. :yes:

Thanks,
Joe

·
7,222 Posts
Hi all, new to this site and kind of a newbie overall.