Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Newbie Member
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am buiklding some cornhole boards that I would like to paint. However, I'm a complete newbie at this and don't know the first thing about painting something in a way that would make it last.

The cornhole boards are a 24x48 frame made from pine 2x4s, and the top is a 24x48 birch plywood top. Everything is held together by pocket screws on the inside.

I want to paint it white, and then apply the design (attached) on top of the white paint. The Colorado Avalanche logo is a stick on decal
I'm thinking:
-Sand to 150-180 grit
-Apply primer (2 coats?) everywhere
-Sand (220 grit?)
-Apply first coat of white
-Sand
-Apply second coat of white
-sand areas where colored paint is going
-apply color paint
-stick on avalanche decal
-seal everywhere with semi-gloss polyurethane (3 coats)

When sanding painted surfaces, can I use a ROS? I have a ROS with 320 grit discs.

Any problems with this? Will I have any bleed through from the knots on the pine? If so, how do I get around that?

Attachments

·
Registered
26,983 Posts
Your procedure looks pretty good but I could use some info. What kind of paint are you using? I don't care for using a clear coat over paint but if you are going to do it you have to be careful what clear coat you use. An oil based polyurethane will yellow over time ruining your paint job. A water based polyurethane won't yellow but won't adhere well to some paints. An automotive clear coat might work but sometimes the solvents are too hot for the paint you apply over. They are really intended to be used over automotive paint.