Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm going to be starting on a desk project this weekend and need some help. I'm planning on using oak plywood to build the two tabletop sections of an L-shaped desk (they will be joined in a separate corner piece). One of the desks will be 82" long and the other will be 68" long. I will have oak boards surrounding each table to provide a 2" frame that will cover the plywood edges. Each table will have 4 oak frame pieces - 2 long to cover the 82" or 68" distance, and 2 short to cover the width of the tables (approximately 24" each).

Now, my question is, will I be able to find a clamp long enough to secure one of those oak boards across the entire 82" (or 68") distance of the table while the glue dries? I plan to use some L-brackets or something underneath the table for extra strength, but I was planning on gluing the frame to the table as well.

I am very new to woodworking so it's also possible I'm heading down the completely wrong path. :laughing:

·
Scotty D
4,479 Posts
+1... Probably cost you $45 per clamp

Or you could just spend $100 per clamp and buy parallel clamps and extensions... lol

Go with pipes...

~tom

Damn, where do you buy your pipe?

Go to a salvage yard and pick up 1/2" or 3/4" black pipe for a fraction of retail. :smile:

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Great info, guys. Stupid question, I need two clamps for each length of pipe, right? One for one end of the table and the other for the other end?

·
Scotty D
4,479 Posts
Great info, guys. Stupid question, I need two clamps for each length of pipe, right? One for one end of the table and the other for the other end?

They are bought in sets, you supply the pipe.

Pipe needs to be threaded atleast 1 end. :smile:

Attachments

·
In History is the Future
6,423 Posts
BarclayWood said: