Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
537 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've done a lot of woodworking, but when it comes to finishing, I'm a rookie.

I'm building new cabinets for my bathroom lavatory sinks. They're what I would call shaker style doors...T&G stile and rail joinery with flat panel doors. I'm making them from riftsawn red oak (trying to avoid the flat grain) and riftsawn red oak plywood for the door panels.

I'd like to avoid what I usually do, which is Minwax stain and polyurethane. I'd much rather go with a rubbed-oil look in a dark honey color. I tried tung oil on a scap but it doesn't add enough color.

Can you all recommend a product or procedure that will not look all glossy, preferably an oil-stain of some sort???

·
Old School
24,027 Posts
I've done a lot of woodworking, but when it comes to finishing, I'm a rookie.

I'm building new cabinets for my bathroom lavatory sinks. They're what I would call shaker style doors...T&G stile and rail joinery with flat panel doors. I'm making them from riftsawn red oak (trying to avoid the flat grain) and riftsawn red oak plywood for the door panels.

I'd like to avoid what I usually do, which is Minwax stain and polyurethane. I'd much rather go with a rubbed-oil look in a dark honey color. I tried tung oil on a scap but it doesn't add enough color.

Can you all recommend a product or procedure that will not look all glossy, preferably an oil-stain of some sort???

You said you tried Tung oil. Did you use a stain first? You can add an oil base stain to Tung oil. As for a final finish, not all oil base polyurethanes or oil base varnishes are gloss. You can use a satin finish.

If you use a stain and BLO (boiled linseed oil), the BLO will add an amber tint, while Tung oil won't.