Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Need help designing/building computer desk

Edited for clarity and simplicity.
Edited again: Moved some questions to the joinery sub-forum.

Hey guys, first time poster here, and I need some serious help! I've got limited experience in wood working. However, I'm a quick learner, good with my hands, and patient.

I've been working on designing a computer desk. The one that I'm designing in sketchup (see picture) includes a cabinet with a shelf for computer, and two fixed shelves, hidden by doors. Includes a cabinet on the right, with a filing drawer, a slide out printer shelf, and a drawer, slide out keyboard tray, and a monitor shelf.

I was planning on making everything I could out of 3/4" and 1/2" 2 sided plywood. On the face (front) I am going to trim the edges with 1/4" thick molding, or equivalent so that the edges of the plywood do not show. I have not decided whether or not I'm going to paint it yet, but if I do, it would be painted black.

1. My first question is whether it is feasible to use plywood for just about everything. I could possibly change the dimensions of the hutch so that it could be made out of hardwood if that would be better. I want to avoid trying to join multiple boards together to get the widths I need, so plywood would be a better option for me.

2. Do you see any issues with my design?

3. I don't know how to build cabinets, so the drawing in sketchup is my best guess of how to build these. Any advice on how to design and build the cabinets/hutch?

As you can read, I could use some really good advice! Hope you all can help!

Joshua

Attachments

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #2