Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New forum member here; CA resident. I have read with interest (and appreciation) the informed discussions of the virtues of Waterlox as a finish. I planned to use that on my project. But it turns out Waterlox is not available for purchase by CA residents. (Rockler and other suppliers will not ship Waterlox to CA.) Something about air quality I presume...

So, I would appreciate any suggestions from members for an alternative tung oil/varnish finish. I have built 12' of interior cabinets with walnut veneer ply and solid stock pieces. I am no expert finisher, a rank amateur, in fact.

I am after a tung oil/varnish finish in a satin or low sheen. What I read of the Minwax tung oil/varnish finish product makes me disinclined to use it. Thank you. Greg

·
Registered
1,160 Posts
Unfortunately, Waterlox Original was the only phenolic resin/tung oil varnish being produced. However, Behlen Rockhard is a somewhat similar varnish. It's made with phenolic and urethane resin and linseed oil and produces a comparable finish.

·
Pain in the A$$
1,904 Posts
Might be time for a road trip to a close state. :)

Mark

·
Registered
26,375 Posts
You might as well bite the bullet and go with the water based finishes until the public wakes up and reverses some of these silly laws.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks for the replies. Since Waterlox seems out of the question, I've been reading about the Sam Maloof oil/varnish finish followed by the Maloof oil/wax product. they sound relatively fool proof (speaking for myself) with a very nice ending finish. any thoughts? Thanks for the input.

·
Registered
1,160 Posts