Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been looking at desks for a while but have yet to find one that meets my requirements. They were also all very expensive so I decided to go the route of building my own. Now I've never built anything this big before but I have used a few woodworking tools. But I have no idea how good my idea actually is.

Blueprint of desk

Now I designed the whole thing in sketchup. It's made with 4x4's for the legs and 2x4's for everything else. I plan on gluing all of the joints and using a pocket jig. I would also use a router on all the edges of the frame to give it a nice bevel. I think this desk would be sturdy but I have no clue.

I'm thinking of maybe changing the 2x4 in the sitting area to a 2x2 and the cross beams sideways. But I don't know if that would be sturdy. I might also raise the height of the legs but not sure yet.

I plan on painting it grey and topping it off with maybe a butcherblock top or something similar. I would paint the frame black and stain the top a light grey.

So really I want to know if my plans are actually good. I would also like advice on how to join all of the pieces of wood. I'm pretty much a complete novice for a project this big. Though I've read it is all pretty simple. I would greatly appreciate any advice on what to do.

·
Premium Member
5,764 Posts
My suggestion would be to go to Ikea or an office furniture store and look at the bottom of their manufactured products, Ikea in particular has mastered simplification of construction.

What you basically show is a long desk with another top with two legs at one end fastened at right angles to it. The frame does not need to be nearly as complicated as what you show. Modular construction will make it much easier to move if that becomes necessary in the future.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5