Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am pretty new to woodworking and need some advice on how to get a perfect edge on a 45 degree miter on a 24" high hollow square column made from 4 pieces for a desk lamp. I am using a Frank Lloyd Wright lamp as a rough model. It has a column with the edge joints completely invisible.

I am using hardwoods and have pretty good equipment. How does one totally hide the joint? Will a stain hide it? Do I need wood filler and sanding? Would a router do the job?

Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Old School
24,027 Posts
WELCOME TO THE FORUM

If I understand your question you want to miter the vertical edges of four pieces 24" long. A lock miter router bit will provide a good glue joint and if machined smoothly on straight stock that is consistent in thickness will give a good fit. It will not produce an invisible line, as there are many variables. A differential in color, and grain can make it obvious. An attempt to filling and sanding may help but I'm not putting any money on that to be 100% successful.

A better idea of the joint looks like this:

·
Registered
80 Posts
Hi Robert,

I think if you have a well set up mitre saw (i.e. 45 degrees really is 45 degrees and the blade doesn't flex during cutting) you should be OK. I'm not sure I'd like to see a novice working with a Lock Mitre bit, they can be extremely fierce! But I agree with Cabinet man on the need for square, even stock for the joint. If at the end you do have a lip, careful use of a finishing sander or plane along the face with the overhang will help. Be sure to go along the board and not up and down the joint face.

Regards,

Orson

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the help. I checked out YouTube and discovered a few helpful videos on several aspects of woodworking. I will practice with the jointer until I can get the miter corner to where I am satisfied that it is mostly hidden.

·