Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Fellas, new to wood turning, I need a good used wood lathe chuck with a 1" x 8 tpi screw shaft. I am on a real budget so I can't afford to spend too much. I know someone out there is upgrading to a better chuck and is not using there old one. Help a friend out and sell me a good used chuck for a great price. Right now I havea 4" face plate, a 4 prong spur center, a small screw center and a live tailstock center. I really need a lathe chuck so I can finish off the bowls I am planning on turning. So if anyone out there has a good used chuck for a great price, please post a reply. God Bless The Spudman:thumbsup:

·
Registered
660 Posts
Need A Woodchuck Lathe

Good luck on a used Chuck.Those things are like gold.I have been turning for bout three yrs an have put posts on three forums looking for an old chuck this last yr,never got a reply as you never have enough chucks.I have three right now and am getting the G-3 in a few days.you can get a new chucks for around 49 bucks.I think Grizzly has em and a there are a few other places,not sure where right now.There are folks on ebay that sells em to_One was sold the other day for about 30 bucks.So that may be an option to.Good luck.
Ken

·
Registered
58 Posts
Make your own......1" nuts at the hardware store set in epoxy will get the start.......from there you can do jam chucks, padded face plates, or donut chucks......I just push the bowl up against a padded faceplate and hold it in place with a live center.......cut the little bitty nib thingy off with a chisel and sand it smooth.....when you put on your thinking cap you can come up with stuff that works well.......we don't have to buy every gadgit that come down the pike.......good thinkin'........

·
Registered
3,257 Posts