Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
230 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the market of a new router, and looking for recommendations. It will be used for free hand, plunge base, and also in a table. Also need to be able to adjust from above table, but can not afford a table lift. I am figuring on spending between 200 and 300. Thx for your help in this.

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
Everyone has their own favorite brand. I'm no different, I suggest you give the Milwaukee 5616-24 a close look. Fits all your criteria.

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
The craftsman pro kit does everything your asking for the 160 range....I've been using it for a few years now and it's been top notch

·
Registered
230 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thx on the craftsman pro kit, do you have a model number? thx

·
John
3,028 Posts
Reactions: vinnypatternmaker

·
Registered
679 Posts
I have a Bosch 1617 EVS that I use as fixed base, plunge and in the table. It works well for me. They offer a base without the knobs or plastic sub base for table use at a substantial saving.

·
Registered
230 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thx for all your information, after reading through a lot of reviews, I feel it comes down to 2 different routers, the bosch 1617evs or the milwaukee 5616-24.

·
John
3,028 Posts
Thx for all your information, after reading through a lot of reviews, I feel it comes down to 2 different routers, the bosch 1617evs or the milwaukee 5616-24.
Both good choices and likely more "industrial" quality than the craftsman recommendations. Haven't had much experience with Milwaukee lately but they used to be second to none for quality a few years ago. The Bosch stuff I have, trim router and angle grinder, are top notch. I've been looking at the Bosch MRC 23 pretty hard to round out my collection of routers. :smile:

·
Registered
1,510 Posts