Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

I have been using a Laguna 14" SUV bandsaw for about 6 months. I am very happy with it. I am less happy with my skill in using it.

The saw supplements my hand tool work. I use it for resawing and rips and the occasional long curve.

I am aiming for what Michael Fortune teaches - a saw that is perfectly aligned for 90 degree cuts and that does not require drift adjustment. I know some don't believe this possible but I've spoken to enough people who say it is that I want to aim for it. I am using the 1/2" blade that he recommends.

I live in Essex County NJ, in Livingston. I would love to have someone knowledgeable come and help me and I'd be happy to pay the time. I think I'd learn so much more and save time if I could get guidance from an expert. Know anyone, or have ideas how to find someone who will make a house call?

I think I've seen most of the bandsaw alignment videos out there but if anyone can recommend a great setup video or article I'd love it.

Thank you!

Eric

PS Similarly I'd love to know of any class or hand tool expert near my area that I might learn from. I unfortunately can't travel for a class but would love a tutor to shorten my learning curve.

·
where's my table saw?
28,580 Posts
Best Video for wheel alignment

For resawing, the guides are really along for the ride and don't have a lot of influence on a properly aligned saw and a sharp blade. I don't allow for drift myself and when things start to go south it's sign of a dull blade. I use either Timberwolf in 3/4" wide 3 TPI, or Starrett or Lenox blades I weld myself in 1/2" and 3/8" wide 3 TPI.

When one side of the blade gets a little dull it will favor the opposite side. (If there is not adequate tension, and wider blades require more tension than you think, the blade will flutter under load and stop cutting true. Think pushing on a rope under tension. Tension is key to good resaws.

·