Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Time to upgrade and I have been going nuts with the choices out there. I know I want a belt driven saw and would like a Rivin knife and have found two choices on CL. Ridgid R4511 (granite top), or a Delta 36-979. The Delta is in very good shape but I did not see the fence. the hubby was out and the wife did not know where it was. The 4511 was supposedly never taken out of the box. I understand the 4511 has an issue with the split rail and the granite top is a bit of a concern. I can get the 4511 for $275 and the ridgid for $250. For the Delta an after market Rieven knife is $150 and don't know if I'll need a fence for it.
I am only a hobby woodworker and cannnot fully justify buying new, but would like this to be the last saw I purchase. BTW I am not ruling out buying new. What are your opinions on the two used saws?

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
For what it's worth....I have a granite top saw, and if I have a choice, I'll never get a cast iron one again...

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
For what it's worth....I have a granite top saw, and if I have a choice, I'll never get a cast iron one again...
Ryan, thanks. I was hoping for a reply from someone that actually has a granite top. I'm sure they are not as prone to chipping as is alleged on some of the forums. Do you agree? Do you own the 4511? I am still wondering about the split rail. I am still undecided between the two saws.

·
Registered
5,445 Posts
The R4511 has fairly beefy cabinet mounted trunnions going for it, and a lot more weight. The granite top wouldn't bother me as much as the fence, but it's at least functional, and be upgraded down the road if necessary.