Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
(clever wood pun here)
979 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Some of you know that I'm an artist and wanna-be amateur woodworker (among other things). Artwork I've been making for the past few years has been closely related to my journey into woodworking and I enjoy both quite a lot.

To the point, a friend and I have an art exhibit going up in at Midland College in Midland, TX next month. Featured in the exhibit are a variety of drawings that document my tools and process. Six of these are on paper and are in 30x36 maple & walnut frames that I built. There are three drawings on wood panels that will be displayed with this. Along with the drawings are the contemplation bench and tool chest (with almost all of my hand tools!) that I recently completed. I have been without my hand tools for a week now already and it is stressful! My armada of carefully engineered cardboard cartons arrived in Texas today and hopefully everything is still in one piece.

Another exciting part of this all is that my Tommy Hockett mallet, JohnnyTooBad marking guage, a Disston dovetail way from Mike1950, and some planes with restore assistance from Dave Paine will also be on display in the tool chest. I am traveling down in mid-September to give a lecture about art, woodworking, and my process. I will, of course, put in a good word for our community here that has been an invaluable resource.

My good friend Colby Jennings is the other half of the exhibit. He's a video artist that deals largely with formation of masculinity. He makes very different stuff from what I do, but it all relates.

I'll be sure to update with photos while I'm down there. Until early October, I'll be using just power tools and the two chisels I kept here with me. :eek:

·
Log dog
7,933 Posts
Good for you Ben.
Didn't know you were an artist. Post some pics of your work some time.