Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
here is the finished hope chest, the frame of the lid is the catalpa, center section is Hickory. frame of the chest is beech. front raised panels are Hickory, sides, back are a mixture of red pine/white pine. I'm new to wood working and wanted to try different woods, thought it'd be a good way. those aren't scratches in the finish, just some dust. the corner trim pieces, I made out of the catalpa wood as well. I guess time to have my work critiqued. I would like to hear what ya folks think, good and bad. all joints are half lapped, glued and nailed on the inside with a air nailer. This is my first real build, just a couple of picture frames for practice and to get used to my equipment, before diving into this project thanks,dt

Attachments

·
where's my table saw?
28,745 Posts
pretty darn nice

You did very well for your first project. :thumbsup:
Question: There's a vertical strip running down each corner... right? What was the reason for that? It's got me baffeled... :blink:

·
Registered
26,984 Posts
Overall it looks good but there are a few details I don't like. Maybe what I'm seeing is the photography but it looks like it could have used more sanding. Before you assemble the panels into the chest if you would thoroughly sand them with an orbital sander it would help a lot. I think I would have made more overhang on the top. I think it's too close to the size of the box. I like the wood. I've never worked with any.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
just a guess, make's it look like a corner ?? probly wrong del
yep, it covers the corner grain and it rounds off the ends a bit. might be a bit easier on the toes in the middle of the night...:)

i did sand every thing smooth down to 220 grit. I think it might be the way it looks.

·
Registered
140 Posts