Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So this was an order from a while back which got held up due to me butchering the top.

David Paine was incredibly kind and invited me out to his home to help me plane the top down. So, my wife and drove out and had the great opportunity to meet him in person. A kinder person doesn't exist.

My client basically wanted a version of a Nakashima conoid style table.

I studied a few of them at the Philadelphia Museum of Art and the Nakashima studios in New Hope. As I looked them over carefully, I began to see that the things I beat myself up over were things which were and are perfectly acceptable in building these types of pieces. I found tremendous relief in studying the originals.

Anyway, I can't all out just make a copy of something, it has to be mine so I did a little different than GN did.

So here's my first crotch slab table.

Attachments

·
Registered
155 Posts
Wow, that's a big coffee table! Well done :thumbsup: The butterflies are well hidden and the support underneath is classy. Was the client happy? What finish did u/ are u using?

·
Banned
615 Posts
Gorgeous. Subscribed, can't wait to see it finished

If jigs and tools were chairs and stools, we'd always have a place to sit.
~Stumpy Nubs

·
Banned
3,533 Posts
Gideon, how stable is the end with the single leg? I'd be a little concerned that someone leaning on one of the corners at that end might tip it, but I sure do like the design.

·
Registered
1,533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Gideon, how stable is the end with the single leg? I'd be a little concerned that someone leaning on one of the corners at that end might tip it, but I sure do like the design.