Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· That Guy
662 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Another first this weekend. I built a cabinet from scratch. Well the hulk of it at least.

It's mostly 3/4 birch ply with pocket screws and a 1 1/2" x 3/4" poplar face frame (also pocket screws).

I'll be painting it white later so the face frame is glued and nailed on.

It was a fair amount of work to adjust and dial in each piece of 80's Craftsman equipment in the shop as I needed it. I've never worked with this degree of accuracy before. In the end there was one or two joints out by 1/16" but since I'm painting it I can hide the cracks with caulking.

It's a simple one drawer cabinet that goes under a dryer to raise it up so the missus doesn't have to bend so low. The drawer will give a little storage and give me a chance to practice building drawers. I've done cabinet doors and drawer fronts before with my moulding attachemtn so that'll be done last and it'll match the bathroom design.

I stuck it under the dryer for now and once the drawer and drawer front are done I'll paint everything together.

Brown Wood Rectangle Flooring Floor
Rectangle Wood Shelving Wood stain Automotive exterior

Wood Rectangle Natural material Composite material Gas

Attachments

· Premium Member
4,781 Posts
Nice job. Yes, cabinetmaking is more difficult than furnituremaking in a lot of respects, the main one being the level of accuracy needed.

I think of cutting cab parts is as close to being a machinist I'll ever get in ww'ing. You have to develop a work flow and system, like cutting as many as you can with one fence setting. Cutlist program can produce a cut diagram, but you (I) can still get parts mixed up. But I'm just a hobbyist.

· That Guy
662 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks All

The washer is top loading so it doesn't require a 'lift' so this is the only cabinet for that room.

I'll fill it in with a solid wood drawer and drawer front that is flush mounted.