Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everybody. My names Matthew, and this is my first post. I would consider myself very green at working with wood. I'm a Pipe Welder by day. So I've been making furniture (benches, shelves, and coffee tables) out of reclaimed barn wood I've been picking up locally. I've built 2 live edge benches with pipe fittings used for the frames. Just messing around, and trying to learn as I go.

Now to my latest project. I had the opportunity to pick up some rather large Black Walnut slabs. I purchased 2 24" by 80" and 2" thick slabs, and I plan to build a live edge type dining room table.

I will include some pictures to show where I am at in the project. As the pictures show I got the wood home, I got the bark off the slabs using an angle grinder with a wirewheel on it. (Worked great.) I then sanded the edges up to a 220 grit. Next I set up a straight edge and squared 1 edge on each slab. Tonight I used my ROS to start sanding the tops.

Now I have a couple questions that I would really appreciate some help with. The first question is when I have the slabs side by side, and I look at the grain I can tell that these 2 slabs are from right beside each other. The grain runs the exact same way. Now if I join them both the same way will that cause them to cup? The second question is, on the outside edge of the walnut slabs I notice the grain goes from dark in the middle and then to almost white on the outside. I really like this look, but I'm wondering why on the outide in the white part it almost looks like there's these random black spots which I can't seem to sand off. Did the wood get burnt when it was planned possibly? I tried to take a picture of this the best I could to show what I mean. You can also see it on the left side of the last picture. Maybe it's just how the grain is, Im not sure ?

Anyway, that's enough for now.

I thank you in advance for any help.