Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
782 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just finished up building this desk a couple days ago.I am really pleased with how it came out.
It was my first time for quite a few things.
I have never worked will full roughsawn lumber before.

I have never worked with 12 inch wide boards before which made the top look great because its only 2 boards instead of 4 or 5.

I have never done double mortise and tennons before and I hand cut the double tennons because I thought that since I only had to do 4 sets of them that would be quicker than making a jig for my table saw.

I have never made a table as large as this one and I tried a new way of finishing.

I have been trying to have each project I do give me the opportunity to try a new technique. One thing I have decided is that I need to get a dovetail jig or learn how to cut handcut dovetails because I used dados for my draws but I think that dovetails would have looked much better.

I have made quite a few improvements in my shop such as having another circuit so my dust collector can run whenever I use a tool along with getting a hanging air filter which has really cut down on dust and all the chips that use to be on the floor.

I also need to invest in some nice quality handplanes and come up with a reliable sharpening method for chisels and plane irons whether that be learning to use sharpening stones better of getting something like the makita wet sharpener or possibly the tomahawk sharpening system.

·
where's my table saw?
27,912 Posts
nice work, you've come a long way

This is a great project to test your skills. Lots of joints and flat surfaces and it looks fine. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Very nice desk - 100% success rate here. I also love your attitude and enthusiasm for woodworking. I'm pretty much a self taught woodworker myself and you will not learn or improve unless you try new things.

·
Registered
782 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)