Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a bit of a newbie working with hardwood, but I finished a table recently which I was quite happy with and when a friend saw it he decided he wanted me to make him one as well. He doesn't have a huge budget but we'd still like the tabletop to be solid wood, so I was wondering (I'm located in eastern Canada) what the best bang for you buck might be in terms of hardwood choices. I'm assuming anything grown in North America is cheaper than exotic woods, but at that point, between those options, are there large price differences?

·
Registered
4,232 Posts
The price of hardwoods varies greatly. Sometimes it worth it to pay more for your wood to get something you really like. Normally the cost of your labor exceeds the cost of materials.
In my area, Red Oak is plentiful and priced reasonably. But not everyone likes Oak.
In Canada, Maple might be plentiful and readily available at a good price.
The style of table you choose to build can somewhat dictate what choice of woods to use.

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
In North America, typically poplar, maple and oak are the most common hardwoods and therefore least expensive. But if you look in the used market sometimes you can find someone who has an abundance of something that they want to part with at a reasonable price.

·
Registered
12,754 Posts
The short answer is that you have to look in your specific area to see just what is cheapest. Look at several places as the price can depend upon the supplies of a specific dealer has on hand. Most specifically look for local mills if you have any.

George

·
Generic Weeb
1,007 Posts
Alder is a nice wood in my opinion. It's a bit soft for a hardwood but relatively inexpensive in my experience. Are you going a solid slab table or a glued up one?

·
where's my table saw?
28,157 Posts
you need to do some research