Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I recently finished a project with my daughter--a small bookcase (6" deep by 11" wide) made from oak plywood.

I was wondering about some ideas to trim it--both the top and the sides. I was thinking I could use some oak and just pin nail some oak to the top and sides but was also wondering about some other ideas that might not be extremely difficult to make myself on the router table. (I'm a beginner but willing to try new things)

Links to detailed instructions/videos would be greatly appreciated.

I and my daughter thank you!

SW

·
Registered
26,848 Posts
Before anyone could really answer that question they would need to see a picture of it and perhaps the furniture in the same room.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Fair enough. Here it is. It's made out of 1/2" oak ply.

You can ignore the furniture in the rest of the room for now :)

Thanks!

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for the replies. Dumb question from someone that's never made a faceframe. Is it joined together and then tacked to the bookcase after joining? Is about 3/4" wide about right for half inch ply?

And, Steve, is I wanted to make the too in your sketch (thanks for drawing that!) how would I do so?

Thanks!

SW

·
Registered
26,848 Posts
Thanks for the replies. Dumb question from someone that's never made a faceframe. Is it joined together and then tacked to the bookcase after joining? Is about 3/4" wide about right for half inch ply?

And, Steve, is I wanted to make the too in your sketch (thanks for drawing that!) how would I do so?

Thanks!

SW
It's best to make the faceframe and attach it to the box. Pretty much you run some wood 3/4" thick and 1 1/2" to 2" wide to make it out of. Then it can be doweled together or use kreg screws from the back. If the wood isn't too hard you might be able to use corregated fasteners from the back and toenail the corners.