Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone.
Im pretty new in woodworking and power tools. My situation is this and hope someone can help me with it.
I bought a 12" Miter saw and I was cutting a piece of wood that is 5" high by 10" wide. Something weird happened and the saw stopped and the fence got broken. Lucky that I still had the guaranty I could get a new one. Now Im thinking that maybe the wood was too big for the saw thats why got broken or I was doing something wrong. My question is.
Whats the biggest piece of wood you can cut with a 12" miter saw? Or what do you think it could happened?

I will apreciate any help. Thank you and have a good day.

Chris.

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
Was the wood held tightly against the fence? What was the model of saw? Do you have any pictures of what broke?

·
Registered
209 Posts
That size wood is certainly better suited for a bandsaw. Your maximum cutting width should be in the specs of your saw, I'd guess 6-7 inches or so....but that is a guess.

Even with the oversized wood though, I can't imagine how you broke your fence. Brand of saw? Do you have pics?

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
The only issues I've had with a miter saw is not holding the workpiece secure enough. The blade grabbed the board and flipped it backwards, thereby bending the blade and the fence. I had to change my shorts after that.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Miter Saw fence broken

Thank you guys. Well the saw is a chicago electric that I bought at harbor freight. I know that brand its pretty **** but it was at good price. At the moment Im not doing big things just doing lamps and small things because Im learning, Maybe in the future I will invest in a better saw.