Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone used this minwax brushing lacquer, if so can you give your thoughts on it, thx for your time RJ

·
Wood Snob
5,963 Posts
What are you applying it on?

Go like the wind. Sand after the second coat and every coat after that. Don't forget to rub it out on the final coat.

Al

Nails only hold themselves.

·
Registered
1,932 Posts
The Minwax brushing lacquer is the worst one I've used. Lays down nice, looks good but has no durability. Just a drop of water will turn it white, seems to have little solids and the film is soft. A very poor quality lacquer. Go with Deft.

·
Registered
506 Posts
+2 for Deft. Each successive coat dissolves and bonds with the first so sanding between coats is not necessary unless you have a problem with nibs.

BTW....I've been using Deft since 1962. :blink:

·
Registered
230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thx for all your info, I would get deft, but it isn't in my area. I guess I will just use a poly. thx again

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
Where are you located? Can you get the watco? I've bought it at Menards.

·
Wood Snob
5,963 Posts
Roger Newby said:
+2 for Deft. Each successive coat dissolves and bonds with the first so sanding between coats is not necessary unless you have a problem with nibs.

BTW....I've been using Deft since 1962. :blink:
The reason to sand between coats is to get a flat smooth finish.

Al

·
Registered
27,647 Posts