Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a beginner, sorry. So I need some very specific thickness hardwood that will be placed between 2 glass pieces. I need it to be be between .080-.088". My original thought was to plane some 1/8" down, but have read most planers won't go below 1/4". Is there a good way to do this, or is this something I could buy somewhere?

·
Registered
53 Posts
Trying to picture how the piece needs to be used could help people give good advice. For example you only gave us one dimension of the piece of wood you need to end with.

If it doesn't need to be very large in width maybe a very careful table saw rip could work.

What about a couple layers of hardwood veneer?

·
7,222 Posts
I'm a beginner, sorry. So I need some very specific thickness hardwood that will be placed between 2 glass pieces. I need it to be be between .080-.088". My original thought was to plane some 1/8" down, but have read most planers won't go below 1/4". Is there a good way to do this, or is this something I could buy somewhere?
Most planers do have a minimum thickness of 1/4in since thinner material may not be able to avoid flexing under the pressure of the rollers/planer head.

The 0.080 - 0.088in thickness is about 1/12in. Pretty thin.

I have attempted to sand 1/8in strips with my drum sander and a backer board, but found this is also not easy. The wood flexes too much. I had to hold it down with double sided tape, and then it was difficult to remove from the double sided tape without breaking.

What is the desired width? If less than the maximum depth of cut on a table saw you may be able to get the desired thickness by resawing on the table saw.

An alternate, but more costly solution is to glue pieces of veneer together to achieve the desired thickness.

·
Registered
26,984 Posts