Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings,.....new guy here.
I've done some construction carpentry, and some simple furniture pieces as well....definately a hobby though, when I have the time.

I currently have drawn up a specifically sized piece for my office...to house a receiver and turntable and LP's. This is inspired by mid century Danish design. I have attached pics.

I would really love any thoughts/advice/insight on my plan of approach for this project.
The piece is 48" wide, 29" from floor to top....and 18" deep.

- I am "planning" on using 3/4 top grade Birch plywood for the sides and top. Then using 1/2" for the back, shelves and sliding door.
-Iron on edge banding for the edges

- Im thinking of using dowels for the top/side/bottom joints and the middle vertical support. Glue/inset finish nails for the dividers..etc.

I am no expert....but ply seems (to me) like a better choice than trying to do all this out of solid wood glue ups and such?

One area I am still trying to sort is the support system.
- The top and side weight is all transferred down to the bottom piece via the vertical supports (sides and middle vertical divider). So we have 3 "point loads" so to speak. A 48" span of 3/4 ply will sag under this load. No doubt. Records are not light.

- Any thoughts here? I thought of a smaller piece of 3/4" on the bottom...maybe cut down 4" smaller on all sides than the bottom...then glue this to the bottom? Creating a 1 1/2" "bottom"....

Legs:
I may not do angles......I am stuck here....either ordering angle leg install hardware online..etc......OR just doing some short straight legs...etc?
Either way....any thoughts on mounting? Is metal hardware the only way? I certainly dont want to drill through the bottom of the unit and attach that way?
I thought of maybe using some 4"x4"x3/4" pieces...attach the leg to that...and then mount that to the bottom from underneath with 4 screws?