Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to finishing but have done quite a few sets of stairs in the last little while. I have a set to do now where the customer has given me Birch plywood for the risers and Maple treads and railing. I am having a gallon of ML Cambell stain mixed to match the birch but my issue is that the Maple doesn't absorb the stain as well as the birch and therefore comes out lighter. Will adding coats to the maple make it dark enough to match the birch?

·
Old School
24,017 Posts

I'm relatively new to finishing but have done quite a few sets of stairs in the last little while. I have a set to do now where the customer has given me Birch plywood for the risers and Maple treads and railing. I am having a gallon of ML Cambell stain mixed to match the birch but my issue is that the Maple doesn't absorb the stain as well as the birch and therefore comes out lighter. Will adding coats to the maple make it dark enough to match the birch?
We have an introduction section. It would be nice for you to say a few words about yourself. It would help if you fill out your profile in your "User Control Panel", experience level, and list your general location.

The Maple might need to be sanded with a more coarser paper. If you use an oil base stain, you likely won't be able to keep adding applications to get a match. Try using dyes to get a closer match.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)

We have an introduction section. It would be nice for you to say a few words about yourself. It would help if you fill out your profile in your "User Control Panel", experience level, and list your general location.

The Maple might need to be sanded with a more coarser paper. If you use an oil base stain, you likely won't be able to keep adding applications to get a match. Try using dyes to get a closer match.