Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
I’m a beginner working on a zero clearance insert for my table saw. The depth on the saw insert is .30” and I am working with .50” oak. For the width I cut it out on a bandsaw and was planning to get it to exact length with a template bit on the router table, using the original metal insert from the saw as the guide.

For the depth, I was planning to plane a certain amount of material from the insert and then send the rest of the way, testing frequently for fit.

For the sanding, I am going to pick up one of these: http://www.homedepot.com/p/RIDGID-Oscillating-Edge-Belt-Spindle-Sander-EB4424/100061671#.Uh9TJRvbMuz

My question is, is the way I described the best way to go about doing this? I realize the fit has to be dead on in this case.

And, this will be my first time planing and using a sander of this kind. Is there an amount of material I should a. look to take off in planing vs. sanding (I have a caliper measurer) and b. is there a maximum amount of material I should be taking off with each planing pass (I have the dewalt planer if that matters).

Any other tips for this process is appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

·
7,222 Posts
You will not be able to get the same dimensions as the present insert using a bushing and router, due to the width of the bushing.

If you are going to get the Ridgid Oscillating Belt Sander, then just mark out the dimensions with the present insert, but close to the line on the bandsaw, then sand to the line on the Ridgid. This is how I made my inserts.

The 0.3 in is likely at the 4 spots which support the insert. You want the insert to be thicker for stability. I marked out the areas of the support then used a hand chisel to remove the excess material.

I also installed small screws in the underneath to allow leveling. The 4 support areas are not likely to be exactly co-planer.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·