Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new here and I'm a novice woodworker and I wanted to see if anyone has any advice on making reducer molding.

I have replaced some thick carpet with laminate and now I have a significant height difference (around 15/32") between the laminate and an adjacent tile floor. I had this same issue in another area that meets the tile, but in that case it was a doorway and I found a reducer molding at Lowes that fit perfectly.

Here the area where the two floors meet is almost 12 feet long. The reducer I bought before would be too tall for this spot, plus it only comes in like 5 foot lengths and I really don't want to join three pieces. I haven't been able to find anything else that fits quite right, and almost nothing in the length I would need to do this with one piece, which is what I would prefer.

So, I'm wondering if it would be feasible to make my own reducer molding. I did find a thread here on making one type of reducer (http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f13/quick-little-saturday-project-53036/) but I was hoping to make something with a rounded edge because I like the way it looks better, and it would match what I already have, which is similar to the picture below.

Could this be made with a shaper and the right cutter? If so does anyone have any specific suggestions? My searches haven't turned up any cutters that look right for this but maybe that's because I don't know exactly what I'm looking for or what to call it. Or are there other tools or methods that would be better for making this?

Thank you.
-K

·
7,222 Posts
I am not sure about shaper cutters, since I do not have a shaper.

This router bit is closer to what you show in the picture.

http://www.eagleamerica.com/product/175-0735/ea_-_edge_forming

If you cannot find the curved profile you desire you may need to use the BZawat method in the link and then hand sand or use a spokeshave to get the desired profile.