Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
1,874 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had a desperate need for a while for someplace to store my hand tools (instead of all spread out on benches, shelves, etc..). After looking around at different pictures and plans for chests, I decided to roughly follow this design from Woodsmith Magazine.

I've been working off and on for several months on this chest and was going to wait until I finished to post build pics. Then earlier this week nbo10 revived the thread "Alternative Methods" Challenge.

Since I'm building the same chest (sort of) that was built by several others in that challenge I thought I'd go ahead and start posting now and show my methods and design changes.

For reference here are links to the other threads where the machinist's chest was built:
http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f13/alternative-methods-challenge-machinists-chest-30864/

http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f13/alternative-methods-project-3-machinest-chest-30401/

http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f13/alternate-challenge-machinist-chest-30057/

And here is a picture of the chest from Woodsmith Mag.
Furniture woodworking Chest Room Wood

·
Registered
899 Posts
Very cool. I need to build something also. I have 2 machinest tool boxes. One wood, my grandfathers, and one metal. My dads. The upper drawers on them are very thin. It will be interesting to see your take on it.

·
Registered
1,874 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My take on the original design is I really like the look of it, but I thought the dimensions of it were way too small for my use. The Woodsmith design is 17" wide, 8" deep and ~13" high. The large drawers are only 2.5" tall and the small ones 1.25" tall.