Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to wood working and would like to get some advice on what is the best use for some wood that I have.

My job gets these beams in from time to time (they're part of the packing so the parts don't move in transit) and they don't need them for anything so they just throw them away. I told them I would take them and try and make use of them. What would be the best use for them?
They are 79 inches long by 6 inches tall by 3.5 inches thick. I thought about ripping boards out of them, my table saw can cut 3.5 inches but it's a lot of work for a table saw. I also thought about investing in a band saw and then I could rip the 6 in side into boards. No clue on what species they are, definitely a mix of different types.

Suggestions?

What would everyone here do if they had them?

Thank you for any help you can provide

Attachments

·
Registered
299 Posts
Those would make a pretty awesome bench...

·
Registered
448 Posts
Impossible to tell species from that far away. Take a close up of a cut end, and of the side grain.
Where do the pallets come from? Usually local wood is used in these circumstances, and will give you a big clue as to type.

·
Registered
13,200 Posts
Depends upon what kind of wood they are to know what to do with them. Highly doubt that it would be worth purchasing a new/used saw just to rip them.

Without ripping they would be useful as the legs of a work bench. The one you show seems to have a bad portion, but there is enough for a leg.

George

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Impossible to tell species from that far away. Take a close up of a cut end, and of the side grain.
Where do the pallets come from? Usually local wood is used in these circumstances, and will give you a big clue as to type.