Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Woodworking Noob
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am adding shop lights to my workspace so I can work in my shop in the evenings. Currently the lighting is pretty bad. I picked up 6 shop lights at Home Depot (the cheap $15 lights) and hung them from the ceiling. Now comes the question...is it okay to plug 3 shop lights into a power strip and plug the power strip into an outlet? I'd only be plugging 3 lights into each power strip and each power strip into an outlet. (I have 2 outlets on the ceiling). I know it would be best to hardwire these lights but frankly I don't have the experience in electrical or the desire to do it wrong and burn my house down. I also realize it's best to have lights on a dedicated circuit, but I'm a hobbyist so this doesn't need to be the world's best set-up, just needs to fit my budget. So, is this setup okay or is this a really bad idea?

Thanks in advance for your input!

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
You will be OK. But if you want to be at piece, check the amps draw on each fixture (times 6). It will be a lot less than 15 amps (which is what the outlets might be?). So, while it may not be the best idea it will work. Be aware, as you age you need more light (DAHIKT). So depending on you age, the 6 fixtures may not be enough, I know they wouldn't be for me :laughing:.

·
Old Methane Gas Cloud
3,500 Posts
Making the assumption two T-12 x 48" bulbs per fixture.
Each bulb is 40 watts.
Each fixture is 80 watts.
Six fixtures are 480 watts.
Assuming inefficiencies, 600 watts total. (Yeah a bit absurd but it makes the math easy.)

600 Watts at 120 volts is 5 Amperes.

You could get another 10 fixtures and not exceed 15 amperes.

Reactions: Phaedrus and Jeki

·
John
3,028 Posts