Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I recently got a new house and I finally have a garage. I'm already hard at work converting it to a workshop, and I'm finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.

I am COMPLETELY new to any kind of lathe work, but I've always been interested in making wood and metal rings. I'm assuming that I will need 2 lathes, 1 for metal and 1 for wood? If so, can anyone suggest a wood lathe for a beginner like me? I've been looking online but there are so many options and I really don't understand a lot of the terminology. I also have no idea on what extra part/tools the lathes will need, so that's something else I would love to have advice on if you can provide it?

Thanks in advance,
Vipered

·
Registered
26,324 Posts
If you don't mind a lot of cleaning you could use a metal lathe to turn wood. It's just that a metal lathe is used with oil a lot and would collect dust and chips made by turning wood.

If you are just wanting to turn rings you might just get a mini lathe. A mini lathe could just be stored away when you are not using it. If though you think you might like to make furniture once in a while you better get a full size lathe. It's difficult to recommend a lathe. A lathe is a piece of equipment you can spend a couple hundred dollars on or a couple thousand. The only thing I can say is turning large bowls or table legs weight is important. The heavier the lathe the less vibration you get.

·
Ancient Termite
898 Posts
Get a used lathe! Find about the cheapest one that you can find.

In six months, take a step backward and look at your situation. Have you been sucked into the turning vortex and purchased a sharpening system as well as a gaggle chisels or gouges?

If the answer is yes, proceed with caution and buy the lathe of your dreams. You have become a turner.