Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm currently using a Shopsmith mark V with the lowest speed being at 700rpm. They have an attachment to bring it down to 100rpm, I don't wanna put any more money into it so I just put it on Craig's list for sale...

Some of the lathes I've been looking at only go down to 500rpm. I'm just a beginner but I'm thinking that's still to fast. Do I need to be looking for a lathe with at least 100rpm?

·
7,222 Posts
Some folks like to turn fast. I am not in this camp.

I consider a 12in bowl blank to be large. How fast you can go with the lathe depends on how rough and out of balance the piece is.

I recently worked on coring a 14in bowl blank with a friend. He had trued up the blank at home, but despite the shape being round, the wood had different density between sap wood area and heart wood area.

We did not get to 300 rpm. Too much vibration.

My lathe minimum speed is 100 rpm. I rarely go down this low but I like having this option.

I will start more often at 250 rpm and then speed up as the vibration and lather bouncing gets under control.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I've been looking at a jet and a nova if anybody has any recommendation for a lathe. Feel free to brag on yours

·
Registered
1,224 Posts
I too started on a shopsmith, still have it, but not to turn with.
The speed reducer is nice--not designed for turning, will slip a lot--found that out myself--don't buy it for that.
I turned a few large blanks on the shopsmith--not advisable, if the blank is juuuust a little unbalanced or out of round makes for a machine that dances across the floor--can be scary.
Plus if you get a big hang--the spindle WILL bend, costly knowledge there.
Best bet is look for a lathe--craiglsist is ok, ebay not so good unless its one your area--$hipping is usually too costly
I have more than one lathe now and like Dunc--a Nova 1624 followed me home one day.

·