Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. This is my first time on a forum like this and I am relieved to have found it. I am having a lot of trouble getting a smooth finish on a dining table top. I've been spraying an M.L. Campbell pre-catalyzed lacquer through a relatively new Earlex HV7000 hvlp turbine spray system. I have had to sand off 4 failed attempts at a top coat. I am getting either a rough dry coat or orange peel . No happy medium seems to exist. The smaller test pieces come out smooth yet no luck once I move to the table. I've tried thinning the lacquer by 5% and also using no thinner at all. Should I thin it at a greater ratio? Have also tried with a 1mm needle and a 1.5mm. Also cannot seem to eliminate brighter stripes on the surface even though I am doing a 50% overlap. Feel like I've tried everything. Would love some suggestions.
Thank you.

·
Registered
26,339 Posts
The problem may be the HVLP gun. I've never been impressed with them. I prefer to use a siphon sprayer and for wood finishes doesn't have to be a high dollar gun. I finish table tops with a cheap harbor freight #97855 siphon sprayer I get with a coupon for about 16 bucks. The problem may also be that the finish is not thinned enough. I haven't used that brand of lacquer however you may need to thin about 40%. The only lacquer I haven't had to thin that much is one that is labeled "Ready Shoot". I don't like to use it but sometimes it is necessary to use retarder thinners to eliminate the lap marks, especially in hot weather. It slows the drying time down so the finish flows together better. The downside is it takes a great deal longer for the finish dry between coats and even longer to cure after you are done.

·
Registered
56 Posts