Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been lurking around your site for sometime as I'm an amateur woodworker, sawyer and now wood dryer. Thanks to Darin I purchased his plans to build our (friend and I) DH kiln. Yesterday we sawed up a couple walnut logs to use for the "test". One log was about 24" and the other was about 16" and both had quite a bit of sap wood so the slabs were pretty thick and reduced our board feet to about 300'. We stacked, sticker and started everything up around noon yesterday. This am around 8:00 I dumped our collection pail of 2 gallons and then this afternoon about 5:00 I dumped another 1 gallon. Needless to say we are pretty pleased with results so far! My friend has a sheet metal fab shop so he constructed our kiln out of 14 gauge galvanized sheets, insulated with 3/4" closed cell insulation and built (2) 5' doors that are bolted on. I forgot to mention that we did install a 500 watt quartz halogen light that between it and the dehumidifier the temperature is running right at 100 degrees. I need to read up how to post pictures for all to see plus our saw mill. I'm from eastern Iowa/western Illinois ( Quad Cities) actually. I see some of you guys are from the Illinois area too. Thx for letting me tell you about us. Don

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Kiln

I've had our kiln on line now for two weeks and I opened it up to check lumber moisture. Most of the 6/4 was down to the 15-17 percent range and one 4"x12" cant was still in the 20-25 percent range. The walnut was very wet when first loaded ( don't know why I didn't check that :huh:) Anyone care to speculate what the moisture content woulda been? I've kept track of how many gallons removed.

·
Sawing against the Wind
2,381 Posts