Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This is my first project which I decided to take pictures while building. The photos were made on cell-phone thus they are not so good. I'm using cherry. I'm gonna use Waterlox as finish.

I tried to avoid "white pieces" on table top so I had to do a few extra waste (I'm pretty sure I will find where to use them anyway).

Tomorrow I will glue legs and table bottom together. Also I think I'm gonna do "wipe off" dewaxed shellac as a based before applying Waterlox. I did a test and got blotchy spots on test piece

Attachments

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Spent two hours in my workshop today. Glued everything together (legs, table bottom and top). Need to do light sanding and start applying finish.

Learned a lesson - tenons and mortise has to be done perfect to glue without noticeable gaps. Hopefully I will remember it in next time :laughing:

Attachments

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
I finished the table today. Did a few mistakes that cost me sanding down one layer of the finish. And the table top still has finishing defects. But I've got an experience and now I know that I shouldn't do in next time.
Still need to build 4 chairs.

Attachments

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
The table turned out great. Nice job! :thumbsup:

High gloss magnifies everything, but the imperfections are worse to you than anyone else.
Thanks.
It's not high-gloss finish. This is waterlox original (medium sheen). It turned glossy because I ended up putting 7 layers due to mistakes :laughing:

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 · (Edited)