Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am relatively new with a table saw. My saw has a splitter a guard and anti kick back fingers. I notice a lot of the professionals do not use the fingers. They use the splitter with a blade guard only. Is that safe? Does the splitter by itself eliminate kick back?
Thanks

·
Registered
909 Posts
The splitter eliminates some kickbacks. Keep the antikickpack pawls on. They've saved me a few times from taking a board to the stomach.

·
where's my table saw?
28,745 Posts
kickback fingers

By the time the fingers come into play, a kickback is already in progress.

The splitter is designed to do 2 things, the first is to prevent the work from moving away from the fence at the rear of the blade... it can't because the splitter plate is in the way. The second thing it does is prevent the blade from closing up on the rear of the blade...pinching it and propelling it up and over back at you. It can't pinch the blade signifcantly because it's just a hair thinner than the kerf.
With a proper splitter, kickback is minimized. At least in my experience, I've not had one using it and several without using one.
Thicker workpieces can have internal stresses and close OR open after the kerf is made. Thin work pieces can lift up because of the blade rotation and they have little weight of their own to keep them in place on the table. This may cause a kickback.

When making a "test" cut you may want to just see how the kerf aligns with your measured mark and or rip a test piece. You CANNOT back the work out with the fingers engaged. I don't need them or use them. :thumbdown:

Safety is also in the operators mind set as well as in the safety equipment in use. Some things are included in the equipment because the liability engineers and lawyers want to cover their collective ass..ets.